Aletho News



By Damian Lataan | January 10, 2014

Seventy senior Israeli-centric neoconservatives have written an open letter to Congress imploring them to do more to ensure Iran complies with the conditions of any agreement finally reached with the P5+1 over Iran’s nuclear program.

While the neocons are ostensibly asking Congress to ensure compliance, it is clear that their real aim is to convince members of Congress to support the bill currently passing through the Senate which calls for tighter sanctions against Iran in the event of any waywardness on Iran’s part.

The neocons are eager to see the bill currently passing through the Senate with enough support to make it veto-proof, not so much because they are concerned about Iran’s so-called nuclear weapons program – there’s still not a skerrick of hard evidence that Iran has a nuclear weapons program – but, rather, because embedded within the bill is this clause:

…if the Government of Israel is compelled to take military action in legitimate self-defense against Iran’s nuclear weapon program, the United States Government should stand with Israel and provide, in accordance with the law of the United States and the constitutional responsibility of Congress to authorize the use of military force, diplomatic, military, and economic support to the Government of Israel in its defense of its territory, people, and existence…

Essentially, the clause is an automatic trigger for the US to attack Iran at any time the Israelis choose to launch a first strike – regardless of whether President Obama is in favour or not.

Partial list:

Elliott Abrams

James Kirchick

Dr. Fouad AjamiIrina Krasovskaya

Dr. Michael Auslin

Dr. William Kristol

Congresswoman Shelley Berkley

Dr. Robert J. Lieber

Josh Block

Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

Dan Blumenthal

Tod Lindberg

Max Boot

Mary Beth Long

Ellen Bork

Dr. Thomas G. Mahnken

Ambassador L. Paul Bremer

Dr. Michael Makovsky

Dr. Eliot A. Cohen

Ann Marlowe

Senator Norm Coleman

Clifford D. May

Ambassador William Courtney

Robert C. McFarlane

Seth Cropsey

David A. Merkel

Jack David

Thomas C. Moore

James S. Denton

Dr. Joshua Muravchik

Dr. Paula J. Dobriansky

Governor Tim Pawlenty

Dr. Michael Doran

Dr. Martin Peretz

Mark Dubowitz

Danielle Pletka

Dr. Colin Dueck

John Podhoretz

Dr. Nicholas N. Eberstadt

Arch Puddington

Ambassador Eric S. Edelman

Stephen G. Rademaker

Douglas J. Feith

Dr. Michael Rubin

Dr. Jeffrey Gedmin

Randy Scheunemann

Reuel Marc Gerecht

Dr. Gary J. Schmitt

Abe Greenwald

Dan Senor

January 10, 2014 - Posted by | Militarism, War Crimes, Wars for Israel | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.